Personalized Holiday Wreath

As we kind of settled into the new house I wanted to make something personalized for the holidays. What’s better than a wreath with our family initial? I probably spent a good hour  in the garage going through boxes to find all the materials I needed. We were still unpacked at that time and my entire craft stash were still in boxes. Ugh.

I had to get a wreath frame from Michaels and a wooden V. I already had the cream deco mesh, burlap and jute twine. I’ve seen a lot of DIY wreath tutorials online but it’s either with deco mesh OR burlap and not both. So I decided to combine the two and it turned out really nice. I followed this YouTube tutorial for working with deco mesh http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eUSKQgRxPHU. And then I followed this one for the burlap http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZzsCbHT8IvA.

IMG_1708

IMG_1826

The initial was pretty easy to do, you just wrap the twine until it’s covered and glued the ends. After doing that, I glued some cranberry looking decor on the letter. Now, attaching the letter to the wreath itself was a little tricky. But I did figure out a way. I got some twine and tied it to the wreath and made it look like it’s part of the initial.

IMG_1825

Used more twine to hang the wreath on our door. And there you have it.

IMG_1824

IMG_1730

Leave a Reply

